top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Frank

The Kids of the Cul de Sac

Updated: Oct 11, 2020



It is a dystopia

pretending it’s a utopia,

bright colors to mask dying roots

growing in soil

rough and dry beneath fingertips;

flowers

growing on long hours 

and broken relationships

shimmer in every color

and shine in every kind.

Silver cars sit tired

in pressure-washed driveways,

lawn chairs set out to watch

as the sun dies,

and scooters rest on their sides

in dewy grass.

Kids play in the lawn,

scrape their knees on cement

but get right back up

and keep running again.

They feel like

the world is theirs for the taking,

but while they are busy making

grand plans

for their kingdom names

and kickball games,

for sidewalk chalk

and crayon art,

pieces of their worlds

are slowly falling apart.

Kids don't see

what goes on behind closed doors,

they may not know

if their parents are at war.

They see movie nights

and Friday night lights,

they see tailgates

and full dinner plates,

because there is always enough food

always enough clothing,

always enough of everything.

They only ever see painted smiles

and cheery barbeques,

very few

see their own realities.

They see just that,

and nothing extra,

and learn to live the image

of a perfect suburbia.

 

About the Author

Hi, my name is Sarah and I’m a senior from Florida! I’m an author and I have a free writing workshop. I also run a free high school resource organization called Simple Studies. In my free time, I like to write, bake, and talk with my friends. I’m a Staff Writer!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Life

bottom of page